Borough of New Morgan Berks County, Pennsylvania

Borough Council Regular Meeting Minutes

February 10, 2020

The regular meeting of the New Morgan Borough Council was advertised for Monday, February 10th, 2020 immediately following the Utility Authority meeting at 7:00pm in the offices of the Borough of New Morgan, 200 Bethlehem Drive, Suite 104, Morgantown, PA.

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order by President Tressie Marroon-Bailey at 7:08 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance: The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Connie Brown-Weber, Mayor.

Attending Officials:

Tressie M. Marroon-Bailey, President Christopher Weber, Vice-President Doreen Smith, Member Connie Brown-Weber, Mayor

Borough Staff:

Margie Bishop, Borough Manager/Secretary/Treasurer

Guests: Ashlyn Whittingham, residents; Beth Vopper, Southern Berks Land Company, LP.

Public Comment: None

Minutes: Minutes from the previous meeting were reviewed. Doreen Smith motioned to approve the minutes from the previous meeting. Tressie Marroon seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous. The motion carried.

The Borough Council requested any interest from residents for the vacant Council member position available. Christopher Weber expressed a desire to serve on Council.

Correspondence: None

The following reports were submitted to Borough Council:

Codes Enforcement Officer: None **Sewage Treatment Plant:** None

Engineer/SEO: None

Solicitor: None

Treasurer: The treasurer's report was presented to Council.

Borough Manager: None

Police: None

Fire Department: The Twin Valley Fire Department sent the monthly report and it was presented to

Council.

EMS: Joe Carmen from Elverson Honey Brook EMS sent the monthly report.

Mayor: none

Doreen Smith motioned to approve the reports as given. Tressie Marroon-Bailey seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous. The motion carried.

Business:

- A. Borough Council considered appointing Christopher C. Weber as a member of council. A motion was made by Tressie Marroon-Bailey to approve, Doreen Smith seconded the motion. A vote was unanimous. The motion carried. Christopher Weber was sworn in by Connie Brown-Weber, Mayor. An Oath of Office affidavit was notarized by Margie Bishop, Notary. Tressie Marroon-Bailey made a motion to appoint Christopher C. Weber as Vice-President of Borough Council. Doreen Smith second the motion. The vote was unanimous. The motion carried.
- B. Borough Council considered approval of the approval of the Animal Rescue League of Berks County annual contract in the amount of \$1 per/capita based upon the 2010 census data which equates to \$71 per year.; Doreen Smith motioned to approve, Chris Weber seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous. The motion carried.
- C. Borough Council considered approval reaffirming the existing fee schedule of 2015 for New Morgan Borough Utilities Authority as presented by Ebert Engineering; Christopher Weber motioned to approve, Doreen Smith seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous. The motion carried.
- D. Borough Council acknowledged confirmation was received from Governor Tom Wolf appointing William Bailey to the position of Emergency Management Coordinator for New Morgan Borough Effective immediately.
- E. Borough Council considered approval for Ashley Stern (if she so chooses) to complete here required 40 hours of community service at New Morgan Borough; Doreen Smith motioned to approve; Christopher Weber seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous. The motion carried.
- F. Borough Council considered approval of the request made by Bill Whitman, Engineer for the developer of the Oak Grove Subdivision to re-surface the road its current width for the entire length of the roadway within the Borough. It is to be used for emergency access only. Robeson Township is requesting the Borough's Concurrence as the Borough will incur no costs for this project; Doreen Smith motioned to approve; Christopher Weber seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous. The motion carried.

The Next Regular Meeting will be held on Monday, March 9th, 2020 at 7:00 pm. following the Utility Authority meeting.

Adjourn: Doreen Smith motioned to adjourn the meeting and Christopher Weber seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 7:32 pm.

M : D: L D L M (C , T

Respectively Submitted,