Borough of New Morgan Berks County, Pennsylvania

Borough Council Regular Meeting Minutes

December 9th, 2019

The regular meeting of the New Morgan Borough Council was advertised for Monday, December 9th, 2019 immediately following the Planning Committee meeting at 7:00 p.m. in the offices of the Borough of New Morgan, 200 Bethlehem Drive, Suite 104, Morgantown, PA.

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order by President Christopher Weber at 7:16 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance: The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Christopher Weber, President.

Attending Officials:

Christopher Weber, President Tressie M. Marroon Vice-President Doreen Smith, Member Connie Brown-Weber, Mayor: Not present

Borough Staff:

Margie Bishop, Borough Manager/Secretary/Treasurer

Guests: William Bailey and Wendy Farris, residents; Beth Vopper, Southern Berks Land Company

Public Comment: None

Minutes: Minutes from the previous meeting were reviewed. Doreen Smith motioned to approve the minutes from the previous meeting. Tressie M. Marroon seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous. The motion carried.

Correspondence: Informed council that notification was received from DEP that Republic Services submitted the renewal of their permit which is set to expire July 2020. The borough also received notification that Twin Valley School District has submitted legal notification to appearing in court at the hearing for the Abraxas appeal of property assessment.

The following reports were submitted to Borough Council:

Codes Enforcement Officer: None **Sewage Treatment Plant:** None

Engineer/SEO: None

Solicitor: None

Treasurer: The treasurer's report was presented to Council.

Borough Manager: None

Police: None

Fire Department: The Twin Valley Fire Department sent the monthly report and it was presented to

Council. **EMS:** None. **Mayor:** None

Doreen Smith made a motion to approve the reports as given. Tressie M. Marroon seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous. The motion carried.

Business:

- A. The Borough Council considered approval of the finalized version of the New Morgan Borough/STP 2020 Operating Budget: Tressie M. Marroon made a motion to approve Doreen Smith seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous. The motion carried.
- B. The Borough Council considered approval to recommend William Bailey for the position of Emergency Management Coordinator for New Morgan Borough: Doreen Smith made a motion to approve. Christopher Weber seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous. The motion carried.
- C. The Borough Council considered approval of the proposed 2020 Meeting Dates as follows January 6th, February 10th, March 9th, April 13th, May 11th, June 8th, July 13th, August 10th, September 14th, October 13th, November 9th, and December 14th: Doreen Smith made a motion to approve. Tressie M. Marroon seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous. The motion carried.
- D. The Borough Council considered approval of Resolution 2-2019 which adopts the 2020 tax rate for New Morgan Borough: Doreen Smith made a motion to approve. Tressie M.
 Marroon seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous. The motion carried.

The Next Regular Meeting will be held on Monday, January 6th, 2020 at 7:00 pm immediately following the Reorganization Meeting.

Adjourn: Tressie Marroon-Bailey made a motion to adjourn the meeting and Doreen Smith seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 7:25 p.m.

Margie Bishop, Borough Manager/Secretary/Treasurer

Respectfully Submitted,